Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-17-2005, 07:37 PM

Default Re-buys and add-ons

As a newbie, I haven't seen any discussion of these, but it seems to me that a rebuy would be -EV. Assuming I went bust early, why would I want to pay a full buyin in order to get less than a proportional share of chips? Wouldn't I be better off to go look for another tourney?

Add-ons also suffer from a theoretical disadvantage. If each chip in a big stack is worth less than a chip in a small stack, then an add-on is also -EV.

OTOH, choosing a tournament that allows rebuys and add-ons (and then not using them) looks like +EV to me.

Am I missing something? What do you guys do?

GG
Old 03-17-2005, 07:46 PM

Default Re: Re-buys and add-ons

[ QUOTE ]
As a newbie, I haven't seen any discussion of these, but it seems to me that a rebuy would be -EV. Assuming I went bust early, why would I want to pay a full buyin in order to get less than a proportional share of chips? Wouldn't I be better off to go look for another tourney?

[/ QUOTE ]

hi GG,

Not necessarily. If you're more skilled than your opposition and get knocked out by a bad beat, you can get back in and still do well. If you are bad and keep rebuying, then yes, its a bad idea to just throw your money away.

[ QUOTE ]

Add-ons also suffer from a theoretical disadvantage. If each chip in a big stack is worth less than a chip in a small stack, then an add-on is also -EV.

[/ QUOTE ]
I'll take the add-on because of a couple reasons:
A) Most everyone else will and I don't want to give them a chip advantage over me.
B) More chips = g00t. If you can play well with a bigger stack, then it'll help.

Sometimes you might have so many chips that an add-on won't do much...I'd still go for it unless the add-on was really expensive. And if that's the case I'm probably playing beyond my bankroll anyway.

[ QUOTE ]