Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-16-2005, 03:15 PM

Default Why I should be playing limit instead of NL SNG\'s.

When I got this advice I was actually a bit surprised, It seems like all the new players are NL players and that that is where the real money is at. Also the variance at limit (so i've heard) is alot higher then NL games. And on top of all that your BB/100 is supposed to be alot higher in NL games. NL SNG's are defenitly my specialty, I think once I am properly bankrolled I will be able to reach the higher levels of SNG's without much problem.

As far as what I know about the game, only what ive read in SS1 and 2, I've never really played it but if I need to learn the game I could. Luckily I am relatively new to this great game of poker and can still switch paths if I need to.
hope someone can clear this up for me, thanks
Old 03-16-2005, 03:44 PM

Default Re: Why I should be playing limit instead of NL SNG\'s.

You will probably get a better response in the tournaments section of the board... and if you really are 'new' to the game then you might want to play it for a while before assuming you can easily play in higher level sit'n go's! Poker is a great game, but it is also a game that inherently creates illusions about how we play based on the huge amount of short term luck involved. So, rather than assuming you can play well at a high level focus on playing well at the level you are playing, and then as you move up continue to adjust your game. The game changes as you move up because your opponents abilities change. Learning to adjust your game to the situation is a huge asset.