Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-30-2002, 05:48 PM

Default Warning a Friend- Long, possibly trivial

I've been playing hold'em and stud for a couple of years at various Bay Area clubs. Last weekend I was playing with an elderly gentleman who plays about 3 or 4 times a month. He's very nice, not too talkative but friendly. I don't really know him, but we usually exchange greetings and maybe a few comments here and there. He's also a consistent loser.

So he's losing pretty bad again when a couple of guys I recognize who play together join our game. They take down a couple of pots he's involved in, laughing one time and saying over and over to my "friend," What, you still don't believe me? while scooping up a huge pot where one of them had flopped trips with 9-3 offsuit after calling 3 bets cold pre-flop (my friend had pocket aces, of course).

I'm in seat 4, my friend in seat 3, the two other guys in seats 7 and 8. As the abovementioned chip scooping was taking place, I turned to get up and whispered to my friend, Be careful- these guys play together. He said thanks, I got up and came back a few minutes later, and then about 5 minutes later my friend left, much earlier than he normally would have.

No one else at the table, I believe, heard my comment. Another friend at the table, however, who's a big winner in these games and who was killing the game this night, guessed what had occurred and later asked me about it. I told him the truth. He said I shouldn't have done that, as the elderly gentleman would certainly have lost more that night, and may play less or elsewhere in the future.