Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Sports Betting
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-17-2005, 07:56 PM

Default Evaluate my 3-team parlay

I'm really a novice sports better, much more of a poker player, but I won a small bet yesterday on my first deposit so I figured I'd go for the big bucks today. I know parlays aren't usually the best bets, but do I have any chance on converting this one?

Parlay (3 Teams) 02/17/05 18:10 ET
50.00/887.13 Result: Pending
Cavaliers(Cleveland)
Timberwolves(Minnesota) 02/17/05 (20:10 ET)
Cavaliers(Cleveland) +145

Mavericks(Dallas)
Suns(Phoenix) 02/17/05 (22:40 ET)
Mavericks(Dallas) +240

UCLA
California 02/17/05 (22:40 ET)
UCLA +125

The two NBA unders seem more like coinflips to me (Dallas is not a 2.4-1 dog), and the UCLA game...well, gotta bet the home team :-).

Thoughts?
Old 02-17-2005, 08:19 PM

Default Re: Evaluate my 3-team parlay

[ QUOTE ]
do I have any chance on converting this one?

[/ QUOTE ]

Sure there is a chance, but the only way this is profitable in the long run is if you believe these dogs are quite a bit more likely to win than the books are showing.

If you estimate those probabilities against the odds you are getting from the parlay, you can quickly tell how profitable or unprofitable it is.
Old 02-17-2005, 08:26 PM

Cal is going to smash UCLA, sorry to be the bringer of bad news.
Old 02-17-2005, 08:31 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Sure there is a chance, but the only way this is profitable in the long run is if you believe these dogs are quite a bit more likely to win than the books are showing.

[/ QUOTE ]