Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-18-2005, 06:19 PM

Default Super System 2: Expectations

When this book is eventually available on amazon and general book stores, what are you expecting to find in Super System 2 that you can't find anywhere else? It seems that there are many new and old books out there (and DVDs) but not much in the way of new content with each new release. Forums such as 2+2 seem to provide more in the way of unpublished/new information.

Is it because pros are only willing to divulge their "secrets" up to a certain point. Is a pro really going to divulge their entire game strategy in a book? Is it also because giving advice on flop, turn, and river strategies is much harder and situational than pre-flop strategies? Don't get me wrong, I'm not a poker pro or expert and I'll buy SS2 along with every other poker player in the hopes that there will be one new kernel of information to help my game. But everytime I buy a new book these days I feel like I'm "the sucker at the table."

I feel like playing and experience is the best way to expand upon the information in books I have already read along with discussing the game with other players. Having a poker pro as a mentor would obviously be a great way to expand one's game, but I don't think a new poker book is a substitute for a mentor. Even watching some of the televised tournaments has been more educational than some of the new poker books/dvds. Obvisouly, I haven't read SS2 but I'm not expecting any of the pros to divulge all their poker secrets and yet this will probably be the biggest selling poker book of all time.

So what concepts would you like to see in SS2 that you haven't seen before? And for those that have read it, what concepts didn't you see that you wish were covered?
Old 01-18-2005, 06:37 PM

Default Re: Super System 2: Expectations

[ QUOTE ]