Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-12-2005, 11:08 AM

Default My weekly progress thread....NO HAND CONTENT

The following post is the first in a series of weekly posts I plan to make which is basically just an update of my poker trials. If you don’t like these sort of things you can stop reading now. I’m sure they will be quite long.

I have decided to jump on the band wagon and start doing this more for myself than anything.

Some history:

I started playing Limit Hold’em by depositing $60 in Pacific Poker. I have no idea how it happened but I ended up with HPFAP in my hands and that is when I discovered the 2+2 forums. I literally zoomed up through the levels and in a very short time was playing 3/6 with the correct bankroll. Lightning struck and I got in a situation where I really needed my entire bankroll. I withdrew the entire amount. I was really down about this because I was doing so well I had just about convinced myself that I was the best limit hold’em player on the planet. The lightning strike turned out to be a blessing in disguise.

Shortly after this I gathered up another $60 and started all over again. This time around things didn’t quite go the same. I did learn a few things though.

1. I was not the best limit player on the planet. In fact, I sucked.
2. Variance…neat little thing that I hadn’t experienced.
3. My emotional ability to handle the rigors of poker had not yet been formed, in fact they were non-existant.

After learning lessons #1 and #2 in 0.25/0.5 and achieving the BR of 0.5/1 I thought I was well on my way. This is where lesson #3 came in. Last night the moon and starts aligned themselves and I achieved the proper BR to tackle $1/$2.

How I’m approaching this:

I’m a family guy and I really don’t get the time to play much. If I’m lucky I will average 7-10 hours a week or less.