Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-10-2005, 10:34 PM

Default Very new so its not bragging

Again, I'm new to bigbet. In this hand I flopped a set and stacked an overpair. Since this type of situation virtually always creates a big pot, please run thru my thinking here and let me know if I approached this the right way. I have $45 and so does the opponent. The game is Party $.5BB NL hold'em.

I had 8c 8s on the button. It was folded to me and I raise to $2. ColdCallOutofPositionGuy calls. CrackedbyUnderpair raises to $5. I call expecting to bust this guy if I get a set, and ColdCallOutOfPositionGuy has us both covered and will take the worst of it on the flop most likely.

CCOOPG calls the raise as well.

Flop: Jd 8h 4s
Ding! This board has a possible straight draw but no flush draw. I hit a set of 8's and am probably crushing the opponents right now, espectially the PFR since the only hand that has >2 outs is JJ, which is killing me. The PFR has AK or QQ-AA.

Pot is $15. PFR leads for $10. I raise to $20 (does a min-raise make me a bad person?) CCOOPG folds and PFR pushes. I call, I win, yay. He had QQ.

My thinking in not smoothcalling the flop was that I was going to lose action from AK on the turn unless an A or K hit, and I'd really rather not have an A or K hit anyway, since i'll get stacked by AA/KK and will stack AK probably, but I've got almost half his stack already here. So I don't think I want to wait around for a big face card on the turn. I want to make him push without seeing what falls.

Is this thinking good? Perhaps it could be balanced by the idea that I may have blown away CCOOPG when he became scared of getting whipsawed.