Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-10-2005, 06:36 AM

Default am I a loser or what

I found using the book's advice (small stakes hold em) I hardly ever see the flop.

And when I do see the flop, I just waste all my money on draws, get reraised, and lose my money.

What am I doing wrong? I feel incompetant. I've lost 3 nights in a row. What are the most common mistakes?

I'm no beginner to poker, just to this strategy.

Thanks for your help.
Old 01-10-2005, 06:40 AM

Default Re: am I a loser or what

1) Don't worry about such a short term as 3 days worth of play unless you are talking 8 tabling 12-16 hours day and are talking 10k hands or so.

2) Post some hands where you were drawing and felt you might have been playing the draw wrong or post some pre-flop hand questions where you felt a call might be a good play but following a book's advise you folded. You will get lots of responses and it will help you understand if it is variance or play style.

Vern
Old 01-10-2005, 06:40 AM

I've had losing streaks that lasted a pretty nice time, don' t worry about them, focus on your decisions! You have to analyze your game. Post hands here, sharpen your reads. It takes practice, like everything else. You wont be a Small Stakes Pro overnight..

Good Luck
Old 01-10-2005, 07:40 AM

I pretty much follow the tight table suggestions of SSHE and have a VPip of about 18%. When you add in the BB hands I get to play "free", I see over 20% of flops. If your experience is a lot less than this, then you must be on a run of bad cards.

As for your draws, when you run bad it feels like you are spewing chips. You must tell yourself that even if your last ten flush draws have gone down, it is still 4.2:1 to hit it on the eleventh.
Old 01-10-2005, 08:29 AM

Location: seattle!!!__ too sunny to be in a cardroom....ahhh, one more hand

[ QUOTE ]