Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-09-2005, 11:53 AM

Default Empire. The Worst Customer Service Ever?

Working in the customer service department of an e-gaming company I am reticent to criticise people in the same profession because I understand how hard the job can be. Today I am going to make an exception.

My wife opened her first online poker account last week, and decided upon Empire. I played poker for a living for a long time, hence I have already got an account with them amongst many others. I haven't played on their site for a while because the relatively large blind to the buy-ins don't suit my game.

She deposited money, played for a couple of hours, won a bit of money and all was well with the world. The next day she went to log-in and it told her that the account was frozen, please contact the payments processing team. She called them up and was told that the account had been suspended because her card had the same number as another card on a different account. The other account was mine, we have a joint bank account, and therefore the cards have identical numbers on them, I don't know if that is just the case here in the UK or all over the world.

Since I work in the industry I took over the call, and asked the customer support what we needed to send to get her account reopened. Either a copy of both our passports or a copy of one of the debit cards. I clarified that if I sent just one of the debit cards would that be ok I asked. Yes, I was told. I also asked which email address I needed to send it to.