Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-05-2005, 05:17 PM

Default Anyone play any Stud 8 or O8 tourneys?

The other night I started playing some Stud 8 $10+1s for fun. I've had such good success early I've continued to play them for fun, and threw some O8s in there also. I've played O8 tourneys before, but can't remember how well I did although I know I profited. So far here are my finishes in Stud 8:
O8:
1,3 (since I started playing again)

Obviously this sample is incredibly small at this point, but it seems most people don't know how to play split-pot games, especially in tournaments. So, does anyone play a lot of these? Can you expect your ROI to be higher than in NL if you learn how to play the game reasonably well?
Old 01-05-2005, 06:34 PM

Default Re: Anyone play any Stud 8 or O8 tourneys?

I think that stud 8b $10+1 are the actually the best tournaments to play at the limit. They are very easy to beat, even if your experience with stud 8b is just reading the ray zee book. I think that you can achieve a higher ROI playing $10+1 stud 8b tourneys than $10+1 NLHE tourneys. That being said, I would not advise playing the stud 8b tournaments unless you really enjoy the game. At higher buyins, stud 8b tourneys are sparse. If you aspire to playing at higher buyins then I would definitely go with the NLHE tourneys for the experience. As for O8 tourneys, I do not think that those are as high ROI for an experienced player as the others. The game is too luck oriented when the blinds increase. Although there is room to push edges in this format, I would guess you could not get a very high ROI.

If you are interested in stud 8b tourneys, I would actually advise the $15+1 stud 8b turbo tournaments on pokerstars. They are very easy to beat, since most of your edge comes from your tight aggressive play at the higher blinds anyway.