Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-05-2005, 02:57 PM

Default A jouney in to a dark and scary place (My brain)

I have been playing NL hold'em for about 3 months at its lowest levels. I'm trying very hard to improve and sometimes I think I am. Then a hand like this comes up and I go back to convincing myself that I actually don't really know what's going on at all. I just played this hand a few minutes ago. What follows is my thought process as I played the hand. Jouney with me in to the terrifying and confused mind of an online poker newbie.

Ultimate Bet No-Limit Hold'em, $.02 BB (10 handed) converter

UTG+1 ($1.90)
UTG+2 ($1.55)
MP1 ($.40)
MP2 ($1.40)
MP3 ($2.08)
CO ($3.03)
Button ($1.77)
SB ($1.07)
HERO ($2.72)
UTG ($4.54)

Preflop: HERO is BB with 7[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 8[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
UTG calls $0.02, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, UTG+2 calls $0.02, MP1 calls $0.02, MP2 calls $0.02, MP3 calls $0.02, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Button calls $0.02, SB completes, HERO checks.

"That's Typical"

Flop: ($0.16) 8[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 9[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(8 players)</font>

"Nice, a flush draw. Ooo, and a straight draw. There are also 2 card in that deck that will give me a straight flush. That would be sweet."

<font color="#CC3333">SB bets $0.02</font>

"It's my turn. Hey! I have a pair too. This is very good. What do I do, raise or call? If I raise, some of them will fold. Do I want that? Which one will get me more money if I end up improving and winning? I don't know! Well, I haven't put any money in so far so why start now. I'll just call."

HERO calls $0.02, UTG calls $0.02, UTG+2 calls $0.02, MP1 calls $0.02