Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Sports Betting
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-04-2005, 04:36 AM

Default Notes on \"3+1\" contest

I'm probably not the right person to be starting this thread as I'm a sports betting newb and wasn't involved in the contest, but here goes anyway.

I've been interested in the results of the contest as a nice, fairly statistically significant sample of what of a group of mostly educated amateurs could do handicapping the NFL.

I copied the final standings into excel and here's some numbers, I hope I didn't make any additional errors:

<font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre>
Group W L T win% Ave$seas Ave$/wk
------------------------------------------------------------
Active 1251 1155 47 52.0% $593 $41
Dropouts 588 623 17 48.6% -$135 -$30
ALL 1839 1778 64 50.8% $141 $17
</pre><hr />

Obviously this is not a group of professional handicappers, but I think this gives a pretty good indication that beating the spread in the NFL is not trivial in the long run. The still active players beat the spread by a little but I think is important to include the dropouts as well to avoid biasing the results. The group as a whole barely beat spread and even the win rate posted by the still active players is not enough to overcome a standard 11-10 (+110) vig. Net results for the season would be a significant loss after juice (with the still active players almost breaking even).