Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-21-2004, 06:54 PM

Default Big hurdle that I need to get over

Dogmeat just posted a similar problem that I have, and it inspired me to write about it and see if you guys could help me out.

I've been playing poker for about 2 years now, online for about 8 months. I find myself having a similar dilemma as dogmeat. When I play, I'm very results orientated. Not in live play, but just on the internet. I find myself constantly checking my account balance, and I'll play for a very long time if I'm down. I'm very capable of playing 4 tables at once, but I can't emotionally handle the swings...playing 1/2 and some 2/4 while playing 4 tables and running bad causes me to play until I break even. Yet, this is merely an online problem. During live play I have no problem getting up and leaving when I'm losing, and I don't get as down on myself when I do lose.

I play 1/2 and 2/4 online, and 4/8 and 5/10 when I play live. I do this because I get fairly depressed when I lose a substantial amount online. It's not because I can't lose the money, either. I live very comfortably and I'm a 2BB/100 winner over about 200k hands in pokertracker. Yet, the losing streaks really get to me.

Should I seek professional help? I feel myself getting depressed over long streaks of losing, and threaten to quit every time it happens.

And it's not because of lack of experience or what not. I've had this problem with other sports and activities in my life, and I've been playing poker for a while now.
Old 12-21-2004, 07:25 PM

Default Re: Big hurdle that I need to get over