Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Probability

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:20 AM
Spladle Master Spladle Master is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 374
Default Simple Math Question

Well, maybe not so simple, since I'm not sure how to figure it out on my own. This question is being spawned from an unfortunate multi-table tourney I participated in.

A certain player is dealt kings four times, twice at a six-handed table and twice at a full (ten-handed) table. What are the odds that aces will be out every time?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2004, 06:16 PM
MortalWombatDotCom MortalWombatDotCom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 64
Default Re: Simple Math Question

there was just a thread that would answer this. i don't feel like searching for it. i did the calculation "the hard way", and someone (almost undoubtedly gm) pointed out an easier way which is almost certainly inclusion/exclusion.

i think we all agreed that just using the chance of each player getting aces was close enough to correct to not worry about it since the chance of two people getting aces is so rediculously remote.

since two Ks are out, the chance of getting dealt two aces is 4/50 * 3/49 = .00489795918367346938

call that value a.

the chance of someone getting dealt AA against our hero all four times is approximately a^4 * 5 * 5 * 9 * 9 = .00000116542860715575


pretty unlikely.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2004, 01:23 AM
Spladle Master Spladle Master is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 374
Default Re: Simple Math Question

I'm not sure if that makes me feel better or worse . . .

[img]/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:46 PM
elitegimp elitegimp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: boulder, CO
Posts: 14
Default Re: Simple Math Question

[ QUOTE ]
I'm not sure if that makes me feel better or worse . . .

[img]/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img]

[/ QUOTE ]

did you at least hit your set one of those 4 times?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:39 AM
Spladle Master Spladle Master is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 374
Default Re: Simple Math Question

The first time, yes.

AA: Raise to 2xBB
KK: Raise to 10xBB
AA: Raise to 20xBB
Me: "He has aces. I should fold."
KK: Raise to ~100xBB (all-in)

AA had me covered, but I flopped a king. The second time, I open-raised from the button and a small stack in the small blind came over the top and showed rockets. Third time was also against a short stack, so it didn't do to much damage. The last time (at the final table, six-handed), the only stack bigger than me open-raised from the button and I re-popped it from the big blind. Big stack moved all-in and I got a really sick feeling in the pit of my stomach but called anyway. No set this time, and I went out in sixth.

Oops. I think I just made a bad beat post . . . [img]/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.