Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-02-2004, 08:55 PM

Default 3/6 NL... What did I do wrong?

What did I do wrong? I have my own idea, but since I'm still rather new to NL, I'd like to hear your opinion. I left this guy with about $70 in front of him.

140 UTG limps
300 UTG+1 Raises to $20
160 CO (Hero) Calls with JJ
UTG Call

3-way

Flop Qh Jc 6d

UTG bets 50
UTG+1 folds
Hero calls.

Turn is 2d

UTG Checks. I'm having a hard time putting this guy on a hand because I've never played with him before, but I don't think I can lose here. The pot is $169. I bet $50 thinking he's pot committed and he'll surely push. Instead he deliberates and painfully folds.

How do you think I could have gotten it all in there? Flop raise? Check the turn?

Thanks
Old 12-02-2004, 09:07 PM

Default Re: 3/6 NL... What did I do wrong?

My guess is that he had an Ace-6 suited (not diamonds), and tried to end it after the flop. When you called, he wasn't going to invest any more money.
Old 12-02-2004, 09:11 PM

AJ
Old 12-02-2004, 09:25 PM

So you have 160. You call preflop so have $49 pot and 140 behind. He bets pot and you call, so pot is 150 and you have 90 behind. Now you bet $50 leaving yourself with 40.

If an opponent did that to you, what would you think he had? I’d put you on being totally pot committed and really wanting a call, and would think set. QJ wouldn’t call preflop and AQ would be more likely to push or check, AA/KK more likely to raise preflop and I don’t see anything else both calling preflop and on flop. So I think pushing the turn is better than minraising.