Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-16-2004, 05:10 AM

Default Please Help: Bankroll management-1st year of Poker and STUCK.

Hi everyone,
This is my first post on here, however, let me give you a brief backround of my situation first:

I started playing poker online about 11 months ago. I made the mistake of starting with 1/2 NL before reading any books or learning anything. To make a long story short, I played these 1/2NL tables by purchasing a table max buy in every week with 1/2 of my paycheck(200$). Obviously I would have my win streaks, but of course-since I knew very little about +EV etc.-I ended up losing everything 100% of the time. My position on Bank Roll management was: If I have enough to buy into the table for a session, I have enough to play.(See where I am going with this?)

Well as of now, in my 11th month of playing, I have lost a total of around 5K playing poker. I am a much better player now, and have read loads and studied tons of information. However, I always have the feeling that I need to win it all back in a day;but, clearly I don't have the BR to accomplish that. At any rate, I am getting alot smarter with the limits I play--Nothing higher than 3/6 limit and .5/1 NL. Another problem is that when I reach a bad -30-40BB losing streak, I just about ALWAYS take what I have left to a 5/10 or 10/20 game and either lose it all or win it back.

My question is to people who have become winning players--'How long did it take you to become "winning" players? and is what I am going through normal for an unexperienced player that had no real correct concept on Bank roll requirements for a game?