Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-12-2004, 08:13 PM

Default Beginner\'s luck, potential or none of the above?

I should give some background poker-playing info before getting into the cold stats. I'm 17 and I started playing NL HE tournaments with my friends like everyone else around last April. I gradually got better and now I'm a solid TAG, top player in my group, and my group is probably the best game among people in my HS. By now, it takes a bad beat or extremely cold cards to keep me from placing. So, naturally, I was looking for some other action online. I had played some play money SNG tournaments on pokerroom out of boredom basically, but then I thought about putting some cash onto some micro-limit and trying to win there. I read SSHE, had my brother put 20 bucks online(very weak and vulnerable bankroll), and I played with his money in .25-.5 limits on PR. Well, I started playing last Saturday on November 6th online while trying to apply all the teachings of SSHE. So far, after 6 days and 14 hours of play, I've gone from 20 to 75 dollars. I've only had one losing day and a few losing sessions, but I'm feeling really good about my play and the poor play of the rest of the players online. I don't think I've gotten extremely hot cards, either. I'm trying to be well-read and a studious player, and have had some solid results. What can I expect in the future?
Old 11-12-2004, 08:38 PM

Default Re: Beginner\'s luck, potential or none of the above?

"after 6 days and 14 hours of play"

This is much too small a sample size. Come back with your stats after 2 months and then we'll get a much better estimate. By the way, stay at micro limits until you have sufficient bankroll to move up- typically 300 BB
Old 11-12-2004, 11:08 PM

I make it a general rule of thumb not to encourage or give advice to teenagers where it concerns gambling.