Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Home Poker
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-09-2004, 01:21 PM

Default interesting small tourney scenario, need some advice

start with only about $50 in chips. blinds start at 2/4. start w/ 4 tables of 6-7 players. i am new to this game, but have been pumping an inside source for info on what people play. it is obviously a game you need to be quite tight in, with probably some good stealing ops. the questions are:

do i have room to play a little looser in the beginning given the blind size in relation to stack size, or do i HAVE to loosen up for that reason?

does the shorthandedness of the tables allow for loosening up, or does stack size negate this?

any other comments on appropriate strategy would be helpful. i am also an internet player (make money) and this will be my first home game with any chance to make significant money.
Old 11-09-2004, 01:29 PM

Default Re: interesting small tourney scenario, need some advice

You only start with 12.5xBB? Sounds like the whole tournament is just a preflop all-in fest. Certainly not enough chips to actually make any kind of plays after the flop. Luck in getting good starting hands will be worth more than skill in this tournament.
Old 11-09-2004, 01:33 PM

that's what i was thinking. tonight may be a feeling out night to see how it goes. if i get knocked out i think that i can do well in the side games, so i'm not too worried. my buddy who is getting me in the game is mediocre at best and he usually does well. i'm thinking super tight at first, maybe try and steal some blinds, but otherwise sit on my stack until i can get some cards.
Old 11-09-2004, 01:33 PM

With only 6-7 at a table you can loosen up a little compared to a 10 person table.

Take time to learn the players at the table. Loosen up a bit against loose players and tighten up when tight players are in. Just don't get stupid with mediocre cards.