Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-20-2004, 10:43 AM

Default Betting and Pott Odds for Hold Em

This is just an example but I'm wondering how you would handle this situation

Say you are dealt K [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]K [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]

and your opponent is dealt A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]J [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

the flop comes down as 3 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] K [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 8 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]

Now you put the opponent on a flush draw so how do you handle betting going into the turn?
He has 3.25:1 odds on making the flush so do you bet higher than the odds trying to scare him off? If so, isn't his call justified by the pot odds? Or do you bet less the the odds given thereby giving him unjustified reason to call?
I'm new to poker, about two months, so I was wondering how this situation should be handled best.
BTW, this is my first post so hello to everyone.
Old 10-20-2004, 11:34 AM

Default Re: Betting and Pott Odds for Hold Em

JSHamm,

Welcome to the web site.

Now your post....

On the flop, a four-to-a-flush has a 35% chance of hitting by the river. That's almost 2:1 odds against (it happening).
[Where did you get 3.25:1?]

So, if it is heads up between you and your opponent, and you suspect that your opponent is considering seeing his hand down to the river, then you should bet AT LEAST the size of the pot. [If the pot has $10 in it, bet $10 or more]

If you do that, you will be offering him less than 2:1 pot odds. If you bet half the pot, you will be offering him 3:1 pot odds, which would be sufficient for him to call (if he intends to take it to the river).

Hope this helps.
Old 10-20-2004, 11:45 AM

Thanks for the welcome...yeah, I did my math incorrectly. Thanks for the advice, though.