Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-07-2004, 12:13 PM

Default How to play A-A?

Hello Everyone. I just started playing poker online, and i play what I think generally would be considered micro-stakes (.25/.50 nl hold em). The outcome has been pretty good so far, and I average about a 35 dollar win each day, from 90 minutes/day.

I have some questions considering playing pocket aces. When iīm lucky enough to get that hand, my main goal is to get some loose player go heads-up (preferably all-in) with me pre-flop by check-raising from EP or raising LP, if there are many callers. Which isn't always easy, but i've managed to pull it through sometimes. Now to my questions:
1. Is this the right way to play it, and if not, how should i play it? (considering the stakes i play. how would it change if I move up to, letīs say 3/6 NL)
2. What is the probability my A A will still be the best hand after the river, if I go heads-up preflop in a nine-player game.

I’ll be grateful to all answers concerning this matter.

/ Swedish Newbie
Old 10-07-2004, 12:34 PM

Default Re: How to play A-A?

At the 25NL, I never limp with AA. I'd always bet the most I think that 1 person will call. This is often about 5xbb. When on a table of calling stations, you can bet more. If the pot was already raised, re-raise, but not so much as your opponent will be forced to fold.

In the bigger games where people have a brain, you may want to just make your standard raise (3 or 4bb) so as not to tip off that you have a monster. If you are an aggressive player, you will be raising 3x or 4x with many different hands, so they won't suspect your have AA. There's no need to slowplay by limping in unless there are maniacs left to act behind you.
Old 10-07-2004, 12:47 PM