Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-04-2004, 08:24 AM

Default Finally, my first 10,000 hands of Hold’em!

It took me a lot longer than most to get there, but now I am! I have to say that I’m duly impressed reading the posts in these forums and seeing the stats (and number of hands played) of some of you guys. I only started playing online Hold’em in February this year, and after very little research I decided to start playing at Pacific Poker, as this site clearly has some of the very weakest players on the internet.

Playing 10,000 hands at Pacific has taken me 230 hrs. (for an astounding 43.5 hands/hr.), so unlike the sites where most 2+2’ers play, it’s not exactly quick. I guess the inability to multitable and the incompatibility with PokerTracker (which I personally appreciate, the thought of computers generating reads on me is not, shall we say, appealing) also would deter quite a few of the regular posters in these forums.

However, I have to say that it has been a remarkably profitable pastime! I remember my mother telling me back in the early eighties that “you’ll never make any money playing computer games”. Well sorry ma’, I just did! Anyway, I’ve kept manual notes on my progress and accumulated some stats:

0.10/0.20 – 4.440 BB/hr. (being cautious, I learned the mechanics of Hold’em at this very low limit)
0.50/1 – 3.959 BB/hr.
1/2 – 4.250 BB/hr.
2/4 – 3.391 BB/hr. (but I just “graduated” to small stakes, so this is really completely meaningless)