Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-03-2004, 11:47 AM

Default Newbie question

.50/1.00 Paradise NL.

Opponent is UTG+2 has $45, and I have him covered. He seems like a pretty solid player.

Villian open raises to $3. Two callers, and I am the button with A [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] Q [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]. I call, the rest fold.

Flop comes 8 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] 6 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 2 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]. Villian bets $4, folded to me and I raise to $12. Villian pushes and I call.

Like I said, I am pretty new to NL and any feedback would be appreciated.
Old 10-03-2004, 11:56 AM

Default Re: Newbie question

If he would do it with just one pair, it's fine. If he wouldn't with anything less than two pair, it's horrible. Depends on your definition of solid I suppose : )
Old 10-03-2004, 12:16 PM

We hadn't been playing together long enough for me to have a real solid read on him, he just hadn't done anything noticeably stupid. Although you have to consider who was doing the noticing. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Anyway, when he pushed, I put him on an overpair. I am used to limit, where I try to train myself not to see monsters. I thought I had at least 12 outs twice.
Old 10-03-2004, 04:59 PM

You have the odds to call the flop bet.

If you believe he has an overpair, why do you feel the need to push right then? You will be called then, you do have 9-12 outs probably. His strength in the worst case scenario represents AA or a set. At best JJ.

I'm curious as to whether this was the right play or not. I generally do not know... but I don't make a habit of pushing all in without an edge or out of necessity.
Old 10-04-2004, 02:38 PM

My comments, for what they are worth....