Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-28-2004, 04:01 PM

Default Treading water online

Does anyone else find themselves unable to progress beyond a certain level when playing online? Not in terms of betting limits, but in terms of overall profit/bankroll?

I've been playing for around 12 months, at limits from $1-$2 to, more recently, $4-$8 and $5-10. I have noticed that I can consistently beat the games for $20 - $80 per hour, depending on the limit and type of game. However, everytime my bankroll hits the $1000 mark, it all goes wrong. A combination of bad luck, and bad players hitting miracle rivers hand after hand, sends me on a big loser for several hundred $$$. (The last few $ are probably down to tilt play after unbelievable beats.)

I'm not complaining about bad beats, but the strange pattern of consistently winning for a while, and then horrendous losing streak where I will miss 24 out of 25 flush draws, and dreamers playing J-2 against a pre-flop raise hitting their two pair or trips.

Does anyone else find their bankroll is 'held' at a certain level by the poker Gods, or is it just me?
Old 09-28-2004, 04:12 PM

Default Re: Treading water online

Simple solution: cash out half your roll every time you hit $900 [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 09-28-2004, 04:12 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I've been playing for around 12 months, at limits from $1-$2 to, more recently, $4-$8 and $5-10. I have noticed that I can consistently beat the games for $20 - $80 per hour, depending on the limit and type of game.

[/ QUOTE ]

That's a unsustainable win rate at low limits. You need to adjust your expecatations to realistic levels. Focus more on long term results not on rushes (good and bad). What's your win rate overall? Your problem with tilting after bad beats oblivously needs to be corrected.
Old 09-28-2004, 04:17 PM

[ QUOTE ]