Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-24-2004, 05:05 AM

Default Are online poker rooms rigged???

Yeah im sure everyone has heard this before.

But after the things ive experienced I must wonder. For starters im not a high roller. Ive only deposited 50 bucks at a time to any given site. I started playing freeroll tournaments at pokerstars, and my very first tournament I ended up placing like 13th out of 6000+. In real life im a decent brick and mortar player, so after a few more decent placings at freerolls, I decided to try pokerstars.
My first deposit takes me a long way, hitting sets left and right, and making a couple of really good calls I ended up placing in the money in a few low buy in tournaments. Turning my bankroll from 50 to 200 bucks made me proud. So eventually i tilted it all away.....
I guess thats normal, but every deposit after that had the same god damn outcome. I would do good in tournaments and SNGs early in the week, and then around payday I would start hitting HORRIBLE, and I mean frigging HORRIBLE bad beats. Flopping sucker sets, flopping flushes only to be outsted by some douches A. Its almost as tho the site knows i get paid on thursdays and turns my luck down around this time.
I even referred a couple of my buddies to pokerstars, and they had the exact same results. Really good start with their first deposit, placing awesome in their first tournament and then sinking lower then dirt due to bad bad bad beats. Now by all means I am not a bad poker player, I almost always have a good reason on people and rarely put my chips in as a dog. But this is absurd.