Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-16-2004, 12:49 PM

Default 3k in 60 Days - College Life part Trios

My name is Brad Augsburger, I'm a freshman at Bradley University in Peoria, Illinois. I'm 18 years old and have been playing poker for about 4 years. I've been beating the games at Stars for just under a year now, and I want to put myself to a challenge to test my resolve and truly see if I can grind it out like a pro, working towards a goal. I need a good way to integrate school and poker, and I feel that if I set up structured times to play and have something to work for, I can succeed in both simoultaneously.

My plan is to 5-table the Stars 2/4-full and 3/6-full games for 2 hours a day during the week, right after I get back from the gym at about 6:00 each evening. As a college student, maintaing my bankroll is very important, and from my experience the variance on the full tables is less than on the SH tables. To earn $3,000 in 60 days I will have to win an average of $50 a day, which is feasible in 2/4, even in the full ring games.

I plan to see this to the end at all costs, because I have had trouble finding time to get hours in here at Bradley. I will not be playing on weekends, because I've found through trial and error that playing while inebriated is a recipe for disaster, and I need Sundays for club racquetball and to study.

Here's a list of things I plan to accomplish in succeeding in this quest:

- Convince my parents that poker is more than just luck and through sound calculations and logic you can come out a winner more often than you come out a loser.

- Earn extra money for my trip to the Bahamas this winter. (How am I going to convince my parents to let me go!?!? Legal gambling and drinking? I'll have to really out-fox them.)