Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-21-2004, 08:52 PM

Default Losing too much money...

I fairly new to poker... Ive been playing for about 3 months, and i really want to get better and improve my game. Ive read a couple of books, try to count odds and I play fairly tight. The problem is i cant stop losing money. I had to re-buy 3 times this past week. I dont think im playing bad, and i think i have a good understanding of the game. Whenever i have a monster hand , it seems like i always lose it on the river.... usually to a weak flush. These big hands I play very aggressive so when i lose on the river it costs alot...
any advice would help ....
Old 08-21-2004, 08:57 PM

Default Re: Losing too much money...

some more info.

I play very tight pre-flop. Always try to see the flop cheaply.

I dont play many suited connectors... havnt had much luck with them.

play less hands in early positions.

it seems like when i have a QJ ... AK falls on the flop.

I play .50/1.00 and preflop raisers has been the death of me
Old 08-21-2004, 09:11 PM

post some hands in the micro forum that are giving you trouble. Most likely you are not playing as tight or as well as you think.
Old 08-21-2004, 10:57 PM

You might want to move to a lower limit where the losses won't be as financially damaging untilyou're more confident.
Old 08-21-2004, 11:52 PM

[ QUOTE ]
some more info.

I play very tight pre-flop. Always try to see the flop cheaply.

I dont play many suited connectors... havnt had much luck with them.

[/ QUOTE ]

1)You need to raise fairly frequently pre-flop. Seeing every hand "cheaply" is a big mistake.

2) suited conectors are often fine to be played. Particularly in a loose, passive game you are loosing by not playing them