Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-15-2004, 05:39 PM

Default Fish in a Barrel

I'm thinking of a particular online player, who plays most all of his hands and calls all the way with any piece of the board or ace high ($.5/1: vp$p 70% pfr 0.00%, WR -17BB/100 over 550 hands). He almost never bets or raises even with very strong hands. He's not a jerk, he just sits there quietly losing his money.

At these stakes he could likely afford to play this way for a quite a while, but I find it hard to believe he enjoys playing very much. I know we want to take advantage of our opponent's weaknesses, but do you ever see players at the table who are so bad you want to help them play better?
Old 08-15-2004, 06:26 PM

Default Re: Fish in a Barrel

I see them every day and I want to just say "Look man, I'm no expert but, this is how..." but I can't. Many of these types of players would not respond well to someone trying to help them. They may even take it as a put down or an attempt to make them feel/look stupid. I'm trying to teach some of my friends along but that's as far as I see myself going with it.
Old 08-15-2004, 07:13 PM

never ever do i feel that need. I'll just quietly take their money, thank u.
Old 08-15-2004, 07:25 PM

Anyone that wants help can find it. I would venture a guess that the average 2+2 player is more than twice as good a performer on a variety of poker stats than the average player out there.

What I am saying is, you could suggest lurking on this board to learn and they still wouldn't do it.

"You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink."

On the other hand, if you look at the level of poker advice here, it's pretty darned good.