Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Mid- and High-Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-23-2004, 03:18 PM

Default The Path to 15-30

I want to become a winning 15/30 player. What is the best path to take to get there?

Some Background:

I've been playing poker since February. I initially desposited $500 and have built this up into a $9000 bankroll. I generally play 4 tables of 2/4 on Empire and have won over 3BB/100 there after 40K hands. I've also dabbled in 3/6, 5/10 (6 max), 10/20 full, and 15/30. I have won small amounts at each of these limits, but have not played nearly enough hands to draw any conclusions.

I realize 15/30 is a lot different from 2/4, and I have a lot to learn.

My Questions:

1. Should I work my way up through each limit or should I just take a shot at 15/30? Is this too much of a jump? I am not a professional player, and my bankroll is replenishable.

2. Is it worthwhile to play the 5/10 and 10/20 full games? I hear at these limits most games are shorthanded, and the full games are a bit tougher for this reason.

3. Is it important to learn to play the 6 max games?

4. What materials (books/software/etc) do I need to study to be successful at the 15/30 limit?

Any advice from those who have walked this path would be extremely helpful. Maybe I just need to hear a few success stories to inspire me. [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Thanks!
Old 07-23-2004, 03:22 PM

Default Re: The Path to 15-30

There was a recent post in this forum that was very similar to this post. If someone remembers who the poster was - a link might be helpful.

You want to make the jump because you prefer full games to short games?

I think you can learn quite a bit from spending time at the 5/10 short and 10/20 short tables.

But, if you have regular income, and play poker seperately (i.e. don't depend on it), there's nothing wrong with taking a shot at it if you really want.