Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Mid- and High-Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-27-2005, 01:22 AM

Default Movin up??

Hey all, I am looking for some advice...

I have been playing $15-$30 online for about 3 years now, and have had good results. I have reached the point where my bankroll is large enough to support bigger limits (assuming I can beat them pretty well, obviously). When I play live, I play anywhere from $20-$40 to $50-$100 ($30-$60 is my average comfort level). I guess my question is, are there any good games online higher than $15-$30? Most of the $50-$100 I have encountered are fairly tough, and I'd rather beat up $15-$30 than grind out <1BB/hr at this level (and have larger fluctuations). Assume you have a $30k bankroll, what's your move?

Is it really worth playing a typical online $30-$60 or $50-$100 game versus party $15-$30? (Aside from gaining experience at higher limits...I'm just talking strictly in terms of profitability) If so, any recommendations as to where the best games are?

Thanks for any input - Jags
Old 02-27-2005, 03:27 AM

Default Re: Movin up??

Live I wouldn't play any bigger than 20/40 with 30k as that happens to be exactly where I'm at. May be a tad conservetive, but for sure you won't go broke. 50/100? You will get broke.
Old 02-27-2005, 04:19 AM

Thanks for the input...

I should have clarified...I play live about once every week or two, for about 6-12 hours. This is really my "fun" time, compared to multi-tabling online. That being said, I think I can comfortably play $50-$100 with a short bankroll knowing that I am not playing day-in and day-out. It's along the same lines as being able to "take a shot" at a game you don't have the bankroll for, with the assumption that you will move down limits if it look as if you are crashing.