Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 06-11-2005, 03:07 PM

Default Embarking on my no limit journey

Hi all. This is my first post on 2+2. I'm looking for some advice from the high stakes no limit folks, and I'm hoping that my questions may generate some interesting discussion.

I started playing no limit hold 'em about 2 years ago and have done well playing mostly for fun. I have decided that now is the time to get serious. I am currently playing 2-4 6-max on PokerStars. The games are usually full of donkeys, and I feel like I am beating the game pretty good. My plan is to gradually move up to Party 3-6 6-max and then Party 5-10 6-max. I am avoiding full ring games because I like to play just one at a time, and I don't have the patience for full ring when I play online. However, I am wondering if it is a mistake not to try the full ring games first at the higher stakes. I know that 6-max requires more skill, and I am concerned that I will miss out on some important lessons by jumping right into it (and maybe I wouldn't get enough training for full ring live games). What do you think?