Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-27-2004, 01:29 AM

Default Lay down QQ here?

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t400 (4 handed) converter

UTG (t3895)
Button (t2690)
SB (t4345)
Hero (t2570)

Preflop: Hero is BB with Q[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img].
<font color="CC3333">UTG raises to t1200</font>, Button calls t1200, SB folds, Hero folds.

I just started playing SNGs recently on stars and have found them alot more fun than the ring game grind. Normally I would push here without much thinking but the buttons call here kinda threw me off. Why would you call away almost half your stack unless you have something that didn't matter too much what the flop brought (AA or KK). So I figured thats what he had and was trying to get an extra bet out of UTG on the flop so he could win a bigger pot, so I mucked my QQ. Is this way too much monster under the bed thinking or did I do the right thing here?
Old 06-27-2004, 02:01 AM

Default Re: Lay down QQ here?

Is this a $5 or $10 SNG? If so, he makes the call because he's a bad player. I'd push here, but then, I get a lot of fourths.
Old 06-27-2004, 02:28 AM

I'm guessing here that three players will make the money.

I put UTG on A-mid, maybe a pair but it's below QQ
Button has AA, KK, or AK.

Your better than a 2:1 favorite over UTG

AA or KK and your in trouble, but you have a slight edge over AK.

If I was playing this game in my typical tight fashion, everyone at the table would figure UTG was trying to steal the pot from me. Thus the Button could call with a lot more hands, like JJ, TT, 99. I think I would call and push on any reasonable flop.

I like QQ, but that's because I busted out 2 players today. Both of them were holding AKs. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 06-27-2004, 03:48 AM