Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-06-2004, 09:34 AM

Default Hand analysis please

I just started playing low stakes limit hold em ring games. I’ve been playing NL MTT and SNG’s w/ some success, but I’m thinking some diversification will help me in the long run. Anyhow I ran into two hands last night that have me in a quandary. The table was loose passive .50/1.00 on Stars.

First hand:
Pre flop I’m in the BB w/ 6c9h. Folded to CO who limps. Folded to me and I check. The flop comes 9s 5h 2d. I bet on my top pair, CO calls. Next card was 6s. On two pair I bet again, CO calls. Last card was the Qs. With the flush now on board I check, CO bets I call in case she was playing A Q. She flips over Js 10s.

Pretty sure my betting was correct. I couldn’t have gotten more money in the pot as she would have just checked the flop and river as well. What about my check / call on the river?

Second hand:
Pre flop I’m on the button with JJ. Early position limps all fold around to me. SB and BB have been tight passive. I don’t think I can get a lot of bets out of them if they do limp so I raise. They fold, EP limper calls.

Flop comes 10 6 5 rainbow. EP limper checks. I bet, he calls. Turn is a Q. Another check. A bit of scare card, but I’ve been aggressive so far and with his check I didn’t put him on the Q. I bet knowing if he raises I fold. He calls. River is a 4. He bets. I get the big Homer “DOH” expression on my face. I think bluff on AK, maybe a slow play of AQ. How could that 4 of helped him? For $1.00 I have to know the answer to this question… maybe that is a leak in my game.

He flips over 44. He called the whole way to the river w/ 44 with 4 overcards on the board [img]/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]? I had to laugh. He’ll pay me eventually.