Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-03-2004, 12:11 AM

Default What determines whether you a pro / semi pro player?

I've been curious how I should classify myself as a poker player. I think I am a semi-pro. Poker suppliments my income, although it now makes up 2/3 of my income. I am a college student. I play 11 hours a week, making $50/hr, for 2200/month at Party Poker $50+5 NLHE SnG's. My sole sourse of income could be poker and I would be able to pay my bills. I am a college student right now. I'm starting to eyeball the $100 tables.

What are your thoughts? How much do you play/make/stakes?

HC
Old 05-03-2004, 07:44 AM

Default Re: What determines whether you a pro / semi pro player?

Are you playing multiple tables?

Does it really matter how you classify yourself?

You are certainly not a professional unless your sole source of income is poker. There are endless discussion about what it means to be "pro" on the internet forum.

Tim
Old 05-03-2004, 07:47 AM

Questions like these answer themselves in numerous ways.

First of all, pro/semi pro is an arbitrary distinction. 2200/mo. is more than many 'professionals' make at ordinary jobs so if you want to think you are a 'pro', go right ahead. Some define 'pro' as playing on the pro tour, others define pro as an attitude. Whatever.

I just have a couple questions myself. What could possibly make up the final third of your income that is worth doing? You say that you are making $50/hr, so what job could a college kid possibly have that compares to this.