Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Computer Technical Help
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-16-2005, 03:51 PM

Default Accessing old HD in broken computer

I have a computer that is about six years old, and its power supply has failed. This computer’s hard drive contains several files that I would like to retrieve. I do not care about salvaging the computer itself because it's so ancient, and I have a new one. What is my best course of action for getting the files off the hard drive?

1. Replace the power supply of the old computer. I have a third computer (four years old, little value to me) with a working power supply that I could scrap for the repair. I do not know if compatibility is an issue. I have no prior experience replacing a power supply.

2. Move the old hard drive to a newer computer. I also have no experience with this type of installation. I do not care about gaining extra disk space on my new computer so please ignore that benefit.

3. Another option?

I am looking for the easiest solution to temporarily access this hard drive. Please help.

Thanks!

Andrew
Old 11-16-2005, 04:01 PM

Default Re: Accessing old HD in broken computer

Options 1 and 2 are about the same as far as actual work and difficulty. With number one you have a bunch of power connection you would need to disconnect/reconnect as well as hope that both systems are using the same type of power supply AT vs ATX. Given the age this is a remote possibility as 98/99 was the transition from AT to ATX. With number 2 you have to deal with a power connection, ribon cable and jumper settings (master/slave). Typically you won't need to mess with the BIOS as the hard drive channel is usually set to autodetect.