Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-07-2003, 01:32 PM

Default Aces Cracked!

I'm a newb to this forum and holdem too for that matter. I'm wondering if I played this correctly though.

Yesterday, at the Palms, 2/4 game. I play pretty tight because I'm not confident in my skills yet. I get red Aces UTG+1. UTG limps, I raise, call, fold, call, rest fold to BB who calls, UTG calls.

Flop comes J [img]/forums/images/icons/club.gif[/img] 8 [img]/forums/images/icons/heart.gif[/img] 5 [img]/forums/images/icons/diamond.gif[/img]

BB checks, UTG checks, I bet, fold, call, BB and UTG fold. Just me and the MP player who seems to be a regular and must have noticed my tight play by now.

Turn comes J [img]/forums/images/icons/diamond.gif[/img]

I bet, he raises, I reraise, he calls.

River comes 3 [img]/forums/images/icons/spade.gif[/img]

His action on the turn scared me, so I checked, he bet and I called to see his J [img]/forums/images/icons/spade.gif[/img] 6 [img]/forums/images/icons/spade.gif[/img] .

Bummer. Advice?
Thank you
Old 05-07-2003, 01:45 PM

Default Re: Aces Cracked!

Hi Nut--

The only surprise is that he didn't make it 4-bets on the turn. If I'm him, I'm thinking that you raised pre-flop, then bet the flop, so you have overcards or a big pair. Once the 2nd jack hits the turn (and I'm holding one), I can't see any hand that you have that beats mine. So I would go 4+ bets heads-up on the turn.

Bummer. Advice?

You played fine... as far as advice goes, continue to post questionable hands and read 2+2 daily. [img]/forums/images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Old 05-07-2003, 01:47 PM

What did you think he had when he raised the turn after calling the flop?
Old 05-07-2003, 01:51 PM

I thought he had a jack, I thought it was worth seeing the river though.
Old 05-07-2003, 01:59 PM