Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-06-2005, 11:20 AM

Default I never win with AAxx

Newbie here. I am a fairly tight player in OH pot limit, and all the poker sites say to play AAxx aggressively. Now I know that in simulations it wins a lot but in practice the flop is always xxx or small pair. I am now probably up against 2p in the first case or 3 of a kind or full house in the second with possible flush and straight draws to come. When would I ever bet aggresively after the flop?
Old 09-06-2005, 11:44 AM

Default Re: I never win with AAxx

When you hit a set or the nut flush draw, or if you managed to get a heads up or 3-way pot with your PF raise and the flop is not highly coordinated. In these cases you can play it aggressive post flop. In a multi-way pot you just have a single pair, no reason to fall in love. If you encounter any sign of interest ditch the sucker.
Old 09-06-2005, 12:47 PM

It depends a lot on your read of the player and their position. If a decent player out of position starts playing back at me on an uncoordinated flop I am assuming that he has made a set or two pair.
Old 09-06-2005, 12:50 PM

but I seem to put more in the preflop raises (say 6 hands) than I get back for the one win in your situation. Every one has probably got me pegged for AA after the preflop raise and are pretty wary and so tend to drop out if a good hand appears. I am sure that good players can make AA work for them thougth
Old 09-06-2005, 01:12 PM

I think the solution is not to raise PF with EVERY AAxx. I think you shouldn't be raising PF with some types of AAxx, such as with neither A suited, with 2 medium cards, etc. Just play these ugly AAxx hands for set value. You'll be more likely to get action when you hit your A, and you'll be able to get away cheap when the flop is unfavorable.
Old 09-06-2005, 01:22 PM

[ QUOTE ]