Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-04-2005, 11:19 AM

Default How to fight paranoia - and a request for book advice

Another newbie question - I have trouble fighting the naging feeling that people are bluffing. I mean it's not totally paranoia, I've caught some doing it, but it seems that I lose often because of thinking that they keep calling with a pair, or two at best, while I have three of a kind, only to find that they were honestly (but maybe not very agressively) playing a straight or a full house... Any pointers on how to deal with this paranoia? If it matters (I guess it does) we are talking absolute beginner playing 0.01/0.02 holdem

Regarding the books - I have Winning Low-Level Holdem and Holdem for Advanced Players. Should I be getting SSH? Holdem for Advanced Players seems to be rather useless to me as contrary to what I expected from many books (on other subjects) with the words "Advanced" in their title - this one really seems to be for Andvanced players only!
Old 08-04-2005, 11:25 AM

Default Re: How to fight paranoia - and a request for book advice

[ QUOTE ]
Another newbie question - I have trouble fighting the naging feeling that people are bluffing. I mean it's not totally paranoia, I've caught some doing it, but it seems that I lose often because of thinking that they keep calling with a pair, or two at best, while I have three of a kind, only to find that they were honestly (but maybe not very agressively) playing a straight or a full house... Any pointers on how to deal with this paranoia? If it matters (I guess it does) we are talking absolute beginner playing 0.01/0.02 holdem