Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-06-2005, 01:01 PM

Default Extracting the most (KKKK)

I'm quite new to NL tournies--on any day, I could've been found on $2/$4 tables across "the internet".

On to my problem: after 255 $11s, I had a 25.49% ROI and 41.18% ITM, but the last batch of 45 SnGs has taken me down about 22 buy-ins, my ROI is down to 15.41%, ITM is down to 38.64%.

After reviewing many of the last 45 tournies, I noticed a pattern. For instance, people will call a 4xBB raise with Q5s from EP at 15/30 blinds, and then proceed to call a pot bet with a queen-high flush draw. I don't think I need to explain the luckbox and LOL party players to you.

So, since my bankroll is at ~40 buy-ins for $20+$2, I have moved up in the chain, but I also know there are some technical knowledges I lack in NL. One of those notions I lack is extracting the maximum.

Here is a hand I thought could be useful in teaching me how to extract the maximum in case of a gigantic monster flopping:

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t15 (10 handed) converter

UTG (t800)
UTG+1 (t800)
UTG+2 (t700)
MP1 (t800)
Hero (t910)
MP3 (t890)
CO (t790)
Button (t770)
SB (t785)
BB (t755)

Preflop: Hero is MP2 with K[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img].
UTG calls t15, UTG+1 calls t15, UTG+2 calls t15, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t120</font>, <font color="#666666">5 folds</font>, UTG folds, UTG+1 folds, UTG+2 calls t105.

Flop: (t292.50) K[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
UTG+2 checks, Hero...?