Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-21-2005, 04:53 PM

Default Beginner Interested in Tournaments

My interest in NL HE tournaments springs from watching poker on TV, so what else is new? I've enjoyed TV poker for years, and now I've spent $201 on some of the best poker books, have done about two weeks penance in freeplay ring games on PokerStars, have read lots of posts on 2+2 and all the Internet Magazine articles from Feb thru April, and the covers of the aforementioned books. On April 6th I started playing 1 cent/2 cents poker on PokerStars, real cash!

I'd started with $50 on PokerStars, and my experience with 1,274 hands played has been up and down. Actually, I won $1 the first day, and was feeling pretty proud! But this was short-lived, as my account drifted down to just below $42 before the slide hauled. Then I went to about $49.39, and back to about $43.40. Then it was back to $49.27, and to $43.54. Most of these numbers are approximate, though they sure do look accurate!

This morning (and I have not played today) I'm at $48.48. I'm looking at my track record, and I think I might be harboring some psychological barriers to the idea of actually making money, playing poker! My method is to read and play: read, play, read, play, etc. I say I'm teaching my subconscious to learn poker, and it seems to be working! I'm more confident about poker this morning (after winning $3.40 on 152 hands and 4 sessions, yesterday), than ever before. It's starting to make a little sense to me, compared to the strange notions about poker I'd obtained watching TV!