Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-16-2005, 02:26 PM

Default A classic situation...

I'm new to the table, and these situations always frustrate me...

Thoughts?

Ultimate Bet No-Limit Hold'em, $4 BB (9 handed) converter

Garland ($395)
SB ($425.20)
BB ($325.90)
UTG ($188)
UTG+1 ($614.60)
MP1 ($369.20)
MP2 ($289.50)
MP3 ($312.50)
CO ($209)

Preflop: Garland is Button with A[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]. MP3 posts a blind of $4.
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, MP2 calls $4, MP3 (poster) checks, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Garland raises to $20</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, MP2 calls $16, MP3 calls $16.

Flop: ($66) 5[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], 4[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
MP2 checks, MP3 checks, <font color="#CC3333">Garland bets $49</font>, <font color="#CC3333">MP2 raises to $98</font>, MP3 folds, Garland ????,
Old 04-16-2005, 02:40 PM

Default Re: A classic situation...

If I'm new to the table and have absolutely no idea who this guy is, I think it's a fold. Not many turn cards are going to be good for you.

If it's someone min-raising with a hand like AQ or AJ... well... we all know what eventually happens to those when you flop a set and they stack off for you. Of course it was a min-CHECK-raise. This guy wants to build a pot.

It would suck though if he made that play with A [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] Q [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] and took it away from you.

I try to think about these a bit more though. Lets say you get to the turn. What's your plan if:

A) an ace comes?
B) a diamond comes?
C) a king comes?
D) a 2 or a 3 comes?