Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-11-2005, 12:56 PM

Default Should SNG newbies skip the 5+1\'s ?

I just started playing SNG's in any quantity at the beginning of this month. I read through Aleomagus's guide, rewrote it in my own words several times to try to incorporate it better into my brain and play style, and am reading these forums to try to learn to play them better. But I'm still a raw newbie and want to learn cheaply, if possible.

Normally I would take it for granted that you want to risk as little as possible when learning a new poker game, but the rake at Party 5+1's is the same as the 10+1's, making it effectively twice as costly in tourney fees.

So I'm wondering if it isn't -EV to learn to play SNG's on the 5+1's just because of the high hit you take from those fees compared to the 10+1's. I know it's probably impossible to say for sure whether I'll come out ahead playing the next step up instead of the lower one, but what would you recommend the average person do?

In case it might help to judge my question any better, here's some info on my SNG play. I've played 128 SNG's since the beginning of this month, and I'm about 70 bucks behind, including half a dozen 10_1's. I'm just beginning SNG's though, and my numbers are small, so I don't think those numbers provide a complete diagnosis of my play. Especially since I seem to have learned a lot in this past week or so and am already playing much better.

But what would you guys advise?
Old 04-11-2005, 01:05 PM

Default Re: Should SNG newbies skip the 5+1\'s ?

if you're not comfortable moving up, find a site w/ 5 + .5 tables. there's no point paying a 20% rake.
Old 04-11-2005, 01:06 PM

I say if you have the bankroll for 10+1, go for it. They're close, if not the same difficulty as the 5+1s.
Old 04-11-2005, 01:07 PM