Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-20-2005, 04:49 AM

Default Is this variance?

Hi
I don't post here much but I've been lurking for quite some time. Just to give you a little backround information, I have been playing the SNGs at Party for a couple of years now. I started out at the 10+1 and gradually worked my way up to the 50+5 games. I played just under 5000 50+5 before I cashed out all of my profits and stopped playing for about a month, at which point I redeposited a few hundred dollars. I once again worked that back up and was playing the 20+2s with an $1800 bankroll. It was just about a month ago that I hit a brick wall. I now have only about $500 left in my bankroll. That equates to a 60 buy-in drop over the course of just under 500 tournaments. I have had numerous bad runs before, but nothing like this. I am beginning to think that this is no longer variance, but that there is something that is seriously wrong with my game. I hope this doesnt come off as some sort of rant, but I'm basically wondering if this downswing is approaching something of statistical significance. Is it not possible for a winning player playing well to run this bad.If so, then I need to completely reevaluate my game. Thanks for any input.
Old 03-20-2005, 04:59 AM

Default Re: Is this variance?

There is no way to tell from your paragraph of prose how much of your recent downswing is variance. Some of it surely is variance but some of it could also be tilt or mini-tilt or just bad play.

It is very possible for a winning player to run this bad. Gigabet has run worse I believe and he's clearly a *very* winning player.

It sounds to me that you hadn't run into the dark side of variance much before now.