Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-10-2005, 02:17 PM

Default Giving Poker Lessons

When I first got into poker, I was obsessed with it. I read everything I could, I studied everything I could, I played and went over PT information as often as I could. Even more, I talked about it as often as I could, and my friends began to take notice of my success.

They've heard about a couple tourney wins and my cash game results, and have approached me about giving them poker lessons.

It is my intention to buy them each a copy of ToP to use as textbooks and go through each chapter and explain the concepts and theories etc. etc. - I don't plan on restricting them to hold 'em.

Anyone consider a better way to go about this?
Old 02-10-2005, 03:44 PM

Default Re: Giving Poker Lessons

Hi,

Although TOP is an important text, I don't know if many newbs will understand it at all without having some playing experience first. You could possibly start with Malmuth & Loomis' Fundamentals of Poker for the real basics, and Stewart Reuben's Starting Out in Poker would also be good. After that maybe Lee Jone's book for holdem. Once they have read those, I think TOP would be much more meaningful to them, and they would have a good foundation for studying more advanced texts like HPAP.

Just my thoughts anyway. Good luck. And if they blow all their $$ anyway or knock you out of the WSOP just out of the money you have only yourself to blame [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img].
Old 02-10-2005, 06:46 PM