Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-09-2005, 09:34 PM

Default school entrepreneurial contest

Im a college student and have been gaining some interest in investing and have done some research on it although it has been fairly minimal. Today I recieved an email sent to all the students at my massive (1300 student [img]/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]) school informing us of an entrepreneurial contest. Basically they are going to give three students $100 and we can invest this money for 4 weeks. The original $100 and any profits will then be donated to charity. I figured this would be an excellent way to get my feet wet in investing.

I have until February 16th to submit a paragraph on how I plan to invest this $100, and then the top 3 plans will get actually get the opportunity to invest the $100 for four weeks.

Since Im an extreme novice here, I wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions on what I should do here. Im open to any and all suggestions.

Thank you very much for any info you can provide.

Aicirt
Old 02-09-2005, 10:19 PM

Default Re: school entrepreneurial contest

With $100? I would suggest .50/1 hold 'em.
Old 02-09-2005, 10:43 PM

Enron stock is the only option.
Old 02-10-2005, 12:52 AM

What a horrible way to teach someone about investing. 4 weeks to make as much money as possible?

I'm guessing you can't short MSO or something. If you're looking to *win* the contest, you'll need to basically hit the jackpot. Find a stock with momentum (like TASR from last year) and dump your money in there. I'm guessing the winning portfolio will have at least a 200-300% increase. If you want a good starting point, try the stocks with 100% 12-month relative strength (http://tinyurl.com/65g6c [msn stock screener]) and randomly pick one. Hope that it continues its rise.