Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Topics > The Stock Market
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-22-2005, 04:21 AM

Default Complete Beginner...

Ok, I have already used the search function to no avail. I am interested in investing when my poker bankroll becomes large enough to allow it. I would like to take the time until them to start studying everything I can about the market.

Please list any recommended books, websites, etc. and how much you recommend it.

I know you guys get a lot of these posts, and if I overlooked something while searching please link me. I searched for "beginner", "starting", "new", "books" (which only came up with day trading), and "websites". Sorry for being a newb. Cheers!
Old 01-22-2005, 05:05 AM

Default Re: Complete Beginner...

Im in the exact same boat as you. Hoping to start getting my feet wet in a few months. I just ordered The Intelligent Investor. Ill let ya know how that goes or if I find anything else.
Old 01-22-2005, 08:40 AM

I would start with something like "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" because that book at least provides some insight into ideas of risk aversion and market effeciency. Look up FatOtt's posts in this forum. He had a post that spelled out the types of books to read that would be very useful. I'll add that a basic knowledge of how securities are valued is essential IMO FWIW.
Old 01-22-2005, 09:53 AM

[ QUOTE ]
I'll add that a basic knowledge of how securities are valued is essential IMO FWIW.

[/ QUOTE ]

For that grab Graham's The Intelligent Investor (which I'm sure everyone here has heard about) and also Expectations Investing by Rappaport and Mauboussin (which I'm sure very few here have read). Expectations Investing is probably the best book out there on how stocks are valued and what those values mean in the market.
Old 01-22-2005, 12:40 PM

Thanks everyone, I'll try to grab those books as soon as I can. Also will look up those posts.