Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > News, Views, and Gossip
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

View Poll Results: What is your ROI (Stars less than 500 SnGs)?
Less than 0% 0 0%
0% - 5% 2 14.29%
5% - 10% 0 0%
10% - 15% 3 21.43%
15% - 20% 2 14.29%
20% - 25% 1 7.14%
25% - 30% 4 28.57%
30% - 35% 0 0%
35% - 40% 0 0%
Greater than 40% 2 14.29%
Voters: 14. You may not vote on this poll

Old 01-02-2005, 04:41 PM

Default Chemistry vote

I got a rather odd request last October. The local community college called and asked me to teach an entry level Chemistry class. The teacher who had been teaching it quit part way into the term and they were desperate for a replacement.

I was a statistical chemist for 18 years and so knew the material but had zero teaching experiance. As with everything else I attempt I analyzed the heck out of it. Then I optimized the teaching throughout the semester to maximimize learning, minimize the time spent by the students, and minimize memorization of material.

I took a rather unorthodox approach. Open book tests, going over each problem any student got wrong with them idividually until they understood the underlying concepts etc.

On the student evaluations I got the highest rating the college ever had. They invited me back to teach the spring semester.

I have thought about some ways to increase thier learning while reducing thier studying even more. The college I am certain would not approve and could result in my not being invited back again.

The main thing the college would object to I believe is this. To have all of the exam questions
(1) real life.
(2) Allow colaberative effort for those who wish to take a 10% reduction in thier test grade for using that option. and
(3) After the exam having those problems which a student got wrong re taught to them until they got it and then be given half credit for it.