Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-19-2004, 09:59 PM

Default A6s makes top pair on the flop, facing an odd turn bet.

I'm new to NL, so it's very likely I did lots of stupid things in this hand. Villain has yet to get out of line from what I've seen, but he hasn't been sitting at the table for long.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $ BB (10 handed) converter

Hero ($42.6)
MP3 ($12.15)
CO ($26.3)
Button ($21.8)
SB ($71.95)
BB ($20.5)
UTG ($24.5)
UTG+1 ($14.95)
UTG+2 ($14.6)
MP1 ($15)

Preflop: Hero is MP2 with 6[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]. SB posts a blind of $0.25.
UTG folds, UTG+1 folds, UTG+2 folds, MP1 calls $0.50, Hero calls $0.50, MP3 calls $0.50, CO folds, Button calls $0.50, <font color="#CC3333">SB (poster) raises to $0.75</font>, BB calls $0.50, MP1 calls $0.50, Hero calls $0.50, MP3 calls $0.50, Button calls $0.50.

Flop: ($6) 6[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 2[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], 5[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(6 players)</font>
SB checks, BB checks, MP1 checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $4</font>, MP3 folds, Button folds, SB folds, BB calls $4, MP1 folds.

Turn: ($14) T[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">BB bets $7</font>, Hero folds.

Final Pot: $21
Old 12-20-2004, 12:43 AM

Default Re: A6s makes top pair on the flop, facing an odd turn bet.

Looks fine to me.

I might not have called with A6s preflop in that position, as I'm learning to devalue the low suited aces -- basically a low chance to hit and a poor payoff when they do due to everyone's nervousness about the flush. But maybe I'm overdoing it -- your call is hardly crazy or anything.