Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-27-2004, 03:33 PM

Default SNG profitability vs ring profitability?

I am a strong live no limit cash game player. I am also an above average 22 33 SNG player. My sample size is too low to extrapolate results but I understand the way to play them and I'm confident I can beat them long run. I have tried playing the no limit cash games on party but I have not had near the success I have had live, they are just two different games. I am also trying to learn limit (starting at 5/10 with an eye to move up, but up to this point I have two years of 90% no limit experience and playing limit is completely foreign.

With that in mind, would it be more profitable for me to buy pokertracker, read some low limit books (I have read Slansker, Miller and Malmuths book once) and spend 3-4 months becoming a profitable limit player or refine my already solid SNG game? The is assuming a big head start for SNG skill.
Old 11-27-2004, 06:17 PM

Default Re: SNG profitability vs ring profitability?

Your potential for ourly rate is greatest with limit, but you can probably make $50-$60 an hour four tabling $30's on party poker with a rake back deal.

-SmileyEH
Old 11-27-2004, 06:20 PM

bp
Old 11-27-2004, 06:24 PM

Nobody makes $50-$60 4 tabling a Party Poker on SNG $30+3 b/c the highest sustainable ROI someone can have is 35%, which translates to $46.20 per hour (assuming 4 tournaments per hour).