Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-21-2004, 05:20 PM

Default First three SNGs

I'm completely new to tournament play of any kind. To dip my toe in, I've played three 5/1 single-table games at Party. In two of the three games, there was an early all-in suicide pact (not including me, of course) and the guy with the empty chamber had a huge stack advantage until sometime in level 4 or 5. Is this common in most tourney structures and levels?

I noticed that if you make a play sometime early on, but end up having to lay it down, you're in bad shape going into level 4 as the blinds will now eat up 1/4-1/3 of your stack, not leaving much wiggle room. Paying for levels 1-4 costs 37% of your starting stack as it is. Is this what encourages the kamikazee plays in the early levels?

Eric
Old 10-21-2004, 05:41 PM

Default Re: First three SNGs

I'd say it would have more to do with the total lack of skill that alot of players possess at this level...Going all in w/out AA or KK early on in a 5 dollar tournament is not well advised. Play tight early on and switch gears and get aggressive at level 4 or 5...I recomend you check out the FAQ at the top of this forum for some good strategy on Sit N Go's...Also, check out MJ's Party Poker Strategy Guide site for another excelent strategy guide.

Follow these guides and you will be profitting in no time...
Old 10-21-2004, 06:05 PM

Thanks for the response. I'm not worried about my play. I'm merely interesting in the influence of structure on playing decisions, particularly those of other players. What should I expect to vary in typical play in various structures and levels?
Old 10-21-2004, 08:32 PM

Why wouldn't you go all-in with AA or KK if you thought you were going to get callers? At a $5, $10 or $10,000 SNG?
Old 10-21-2004, 08:45 PM