Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-25-2004, 09:50 AM

Default Allow myself to introduce......myself

I know there have been alot of "first posts" up lately and I appreciate you checking this one out, so I'll try and keep it short and sweet.

I've been playing Hold 'Em for about 10 months now - I got hooked by somehow winning the first tournament (about 30 players) I played in. I've been playing online for about 7-8 months, at Stars and more recently at Party. I started playing NL SnG's exclusively, but started playing limit for the last 2 months (mainly .50/1, though I've had a few sessions of 1/2). During the time I've been playing Limit, I've been lurking here. I've read a few books (Sklansky's Hold' Em and one of TJ's NL books) too.

I had moderate success at the SnG's, but my bankroll either floated or slowly shrank. Then I played .5/1 for a change of pace and started winning immediately. I didn't have a losing session for about 3-4 weeks and turned my $50 at Party into $550. I wasn't putting in a million hands a day, but would usually play for a couple hours and think about qutting when I had at least doubled my $25 buy-in. I figured I was on a pretty good run and it wouldn't be that way forever, but then I hit a wall (shocker??). In a pretty short period of time I dropped about 130BB and couldn't win a hand to save my life. That might be a bit of an exaggeration, but still. If I had top pair, someone had 2 pair. Had a set, someone had a straight, etc... etc... I didn't feel that my style of play that I was winning with had changed and I won't suggest that Party is rigged [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]